Did you know?News

Wanidu Hasaranga is the only Sri Lankan to be featured in the T20I Team of the Year 

The ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year for 2022 was recently announced by the International Cricket Council. The team includes players who had a fantastic year in the T20 format. This was introduced for the ICC Awards in 2021. In both years, only three players made the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year. England skipper Jos Buttler, Pakistan wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan, and Sri Lankan all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga manage to secure their places.

Wanindu Hasaranga was the only Sri Lankan in that list, and he was lucky to make the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year in both years. Wanidu Hasaranga has played 20 Twenty20 International matches in 2021, scoring 196 runs and taking 36 wickets. In 2022, he played 19 matches, scored 154 runs, and claimed 34 wickets. Currently, he is ranked 2nd in the ICC T20I bowling rankings.

Leave a Reply