Kandy on top with two consecutive wins

Kandy Falcons registered a 5-wicket win over Galle Gladiators in the 4th match of the Lanka Premier League on Wednesday at Hambantota. Galle Gladiators captain Kusal Mendis won the coin toss and elected to bat first.

After winning the toss, the Galle Gladiators score 121 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 8 wickets.The Galle Gladiators haven’t had a good start; they lost five wickets for just 28 runs in 5.4 overs. However, Movin Subasingha and Imad Wasim rebuilt the innings and made 65 runs for the six wickets. Movin Subasingha was the top scorer with 40 runs. Imad Wasim scored 34 runs. While in the bowling department for Kandy Falcons, Carlos Brathwaite picked up his T20 career-best figures with 4 wickets.

In reply, the Kandy Falcons chased down the target easily in 15 overs. Kandy had a solid start and made 30 runs for the first wicket. Andre Fletcher scored 20 runs, and Pathum Nissanka scored 22. Kamindu Mendis led Kandy Folcons in scoring with 44 runs.Eventually, Kandy Folcons scored 123 runs for the loss of five wickets and registered their second consecutive win in the tournament.

Leave a Reply