Bangladesh seal the series

Bangladesh registered a 5-run win over India in the 2nd ODI of the series on Wednesday at Dhaka. Bangladesh captain Litton Das won the coin toss and elected to bat first.

After winning the toss, Bangladesh scored 271 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in their 50 overs. Bangladesh hasn’t had a good start. They lost their top order cheaply. They scored 69 runs but lost six wickets. However, Mahmudullah and Mehidy Hasan Miraz rebuilt the innings and scored 148 runs for the seventh wicket. Mahmudullah scored a valuable 77 runs. However, it was Mehidy Hasan Miraz who took the game away from India. He played a gem of an innings and made his maiden ODI hundred.  

In response, India was unable to cross the line. They scored 266 runs for the loss of nine wickets in their 50 overs. Virat Kholi bats first with Shikhar Dhawan because Rohit Sharma was injured while fielding. However, India lost four wickets for 65 runs. But Shreyas Iyer and Axar Patel made 107 runs together and kept India’s hope alive. Shreyas Iyer scored 82 runs, and Axar Patel made 51. However, at the back end of the innings, skipper Rohit Sharma came out to bat with the injured thumb and played a fighting knock, scoring an unbeaten 51 runs in 28 balls. He took India too close to the target, but he couldn’t get his team over the line.

Bangladesh won the series with one match to spare, their second series victory over India in Bangladesh.

Leave a Reply