Mathews and Chandimal is Back

Sri Lanka Cricket announce the Sri Lanka Test Squad for the South Africa tour which is scheduled to be start on 26th of December. They will play three Test matches against South Africa.

Angelo Mathews and Dinesh Chandimal have declared they are fit to go on the tour of South Africa and Mathews will lead the Team and Chandimal named as Vice Captain of the Team. Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Dhananjaya de Silva, Upul Tharanga,who made a successful return to Tests on the tour of Zimbabwe, was also named. But surprisingly allrounder Asela Gunaratne and Wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella was left out, who had also impressed in Zimbabwe series and Recent domestic matches.

5 fast bowlers and 2 spinners named for the South African tour. Fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera back in Sri Lanka team after his Injury. He has not played international cricket since May 2016. Nuwan Pradeep also return from injury during the ODI series against Zimbabwe. Uncapped 24 years old Wikum Sanjaya Bandara include to the squad with Suranga Lakmal and Lahiru Kumara as fast bowlers. There no surprise Dilruwan Perera and Rangana Herath in the squad as spinners.

Sri Lanka’s Test squad for South Africa tour

  1. Angelo Mathews (capt.)
  2. Dinesh Chandimal
  3. Kusal Mendis
  4. Kusal Perera
  5. Dimuth Karunaratne
  6. Kaushal Silva
  7. Dhananjaya de Silva
  8. Upul Tharanga
  9. Lahiru Kumara
  10. Vikum Sanjaya
  11. Nuwan Pradeep
  12. Dushmantha Chameera
  13. Suranga Lakmal
  14. Dilruwan Perera
  15. Rangana Herath

Leave a Reply