Australia won the Series 3-0

Australians registered a 117-run win over neighbors New Zealand, in 3rd ODI and won the series 3-0, at the Melbourne on Friday. Australian Captain Steven Smith won the coin toss, and elected to bat first

Australian were off to a shaky start, as they lost Aaron Finch and Inform Steven Smith mere 3 and 0 at the score of 11. 62 runs later in 19th over George Bailey dismissed for 23 runs. Middle-order batsman Mitchell Marsh could not fair well and got out for duck today.  Following his dismissal Travis Head joined with David Warner  and they made 105 runs partnership for the 5th wicket before Travis Head fell for 37 runs at the score of 178. However, it was Wade and Faulkner, who managed to contribute 14 and 13  good runs, while Australian opener David Warner continued his dominant run in the series, as he eventually went past his 11th  ODI century, before falling for 156 runs in the 50th Over at the score of  264. At the end of their 50 overs Australian scored 264 runs for lost of 8 wickets and set a target of 265 runs for Kiwis

New Zealand were off to a steady start, with the openers contributing 44 opening runs, before Tom Latham fell for 28. 30 runs later, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson out for 13 in 14th over. Following his dismissal New Zealand’s inform batsman Martin Guptill fell for 34 runs at the score of 79. New Zealand middle order collapse once again. However, Colin Munro managed to score 20 good runs, while the tail-enders too continued their woeful story, and the team just managed to score 147 runs. They lost their last 7 wickets within 68 runs.  For Australia, it was Mitchell Starc, who took 3 wickets for 34 runs in his 10 overs. . It clam a respectable 117 runs win for Home side.

Match Summary – Australia vs New Zealand : 3rd ODI

Australia won by 117 runs

Australia – 264/8 (50)

D Warner – 156(128) | T Head – 37(70) | T Boult – 3/49

New Zealand – 147 (36.1)

M Guptill – 34(40) | T Latham – 28(36) | Starc – 3/34

Leave a Reply