Kusal Perera back with match winning innings

Sri Lanka registered a convincing 6-Wickets win over Bangladesh, in 1st T20I of the Two match series, at the Colombo on Tuesday. Bangladesh Captain Mashrafe Mortaza won the coin toss, and elected to bat first.

Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar stared the Bangladesh innings and Tamim Iqbal out for duck in 2nd ball of the 1st Over. Following of his dismissal Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman rebuild the Bangladesh innings and added quick 57 runs for the 2nd wicket before Sabbir Rahman fell for 16 runs. 4 balls latter Soumya Sarkar out for 29 runs. Both Mushfiqur Rahim and Shakib al Hasan could not fair well. For Bangladesh it was Mosaddek Hossain, who was the top scorer with 34 runs not out, and was well supported by Mahmudullah, who scored 31 runs. However Bangladesh manage to score 155 runs for lost of 6 wicket in their 20 overs.

In reply that Sri Lanka were off to a steady start, with the openers contributing 65 opening runs, before Upul Tharanga  fell for 24 runs. Following of his dismissal , Dilshan Munaweera, could not fair well, as he fell for single figures. 41 runs later, Asela Gunaratna was run out for 17 runs. For Sri Lanka it was Kusal Mendis who was the top scorer with 77 runs. Seekkuge Prasanna contributed with quick unbeaten 22 runs. Whoever Sri Lankan scored 158 runs for lost of 4 wickets in 18.5 overs and it claimed 6 wicket win for Sri Lanka.


Match Summary – Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh : 1st T20I

Sri Lanka won by 6 Wickets

Bangladesh – 155/6 (20)

Mosaddek – 34(30) | Mahmudullah – 31(26) | Malinga – 2/38

Sri Lanka – 158/4 (18.5)

Kusal Perera – 77(53) | Tharanga – 24(23) | Mortaza – 2/32

Leave a Reply