Fakhar Zaman stars in the epic chase

Pakistan registered a 7-wicket win over New Zealand in the 2nd ODI of the series on Saturday at Rawalpindi. Pakistan captain Babar Azam won the coin toss and elected to bowl first.

After losing the toss, New Zealand posted a huge total on the board. Will Young and Chad Bowes added 33 runs for the first wicket until Young was dismissed for 19. After the dismissal of Will Young, Daryl Mitchell joined Chad Bowes and made an 86-run partnership for the second wicket. Chad Bowes scored 51 runs. After that, skipper Tom Latham and Daryl Mitchell made an 183-run partnership for the 3rd wicket. Daryl Mitchell was the top scorer for New Zealand with 129 runs. 10 runs later, Tom Latham departs after scoring 98 runs. Eventually, New Zealand scored 336 runs for the loss of five wickets in their 50 overs. For Pakistan, Haris Rauf claimed four wickets.

In reply, Pakistan got off to a solid start and made 66 runs for the first wicket. Imam-ul-Haq departs for 24 as the first wicket of the Pakistan innings. After that, Babar Azam and Fakhar Zaman made a 135-run partnership for the 2nd wicket and set the platform for the chase. Babar Azam scored 65 runs. 17 runs later, Abdullah Shafique was dismissed for seven runs. After the dismissal of Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan joined with Fakhar Zaman and guided Pakistan to victory. Both Zaman and Rizwan made an unbroken 119-run partnership for the fourth wicket. Fakhar Zaman was the star with the bat and scored an unbeaten 180 runs, while Mohammad Rizwan contributed with an unbeaten 54 runs.

Leave a Reply