Dhaka Dynamites have won the Bangladesh Premier League 2016

After 45 matches it was the all important big final of the Bangladesh Premier league between Dhaka Dynamites and Rajshahi Kings.  The Dhaka team had won the title twice before under the banner Dhaka Gladiators.

Rajshahi Kings captain Summy won the toss and elected to bowl first in Final at Share Bangla stadium in Dhaka. Evin Lewis and Mehedi Maruf start the Dynamites innings they made 23 runs and Mehedi Maruf out for 12 runs. Both Nasir Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat could not fair well, as they fell for single fingers. Finally Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara came to the crease at the score of 42 in 7th over. 41 runs later Opening batsman Ervin Lewis dismissed for 45 runs. Following his dismissal Windies all rounder Dwayne Bravo came in to the middle and join with the Sangakkara. Unfortunately Bravo was run out when he was looking good. However, it was Kumar Sangakkara, who managed to contribute 36 good runs, before falling to Reza in the last over. At the end of their 20 overs Dhaka Dynamites scored 159 runs for lost of 9 wickets.

In reply Rajshahi Kings  lost their first wicket at the score of 15. Nurul Hasan dismissed for 5 runs in the 3rd over.  Following his dismissal Sabbir Rahman came out to bat and join with the Mominul Haque. 47 runs later Sabbir Rahman was unfortunately run out for 26 runs. After that no one able to build a partnership and Rajshahi Kings lost their wickets regularly. Kestrick Williams didn’t came out to bat after he retired due to an Injury and Eventually Rajshahi Kings manage to score 103 runs for lost of 9 Wickets in 17.4 overs. It clam 56 runs win for Dhaka Dynamites and They became the Champions of Bangladesh Premier League 2016.

Kumar Sangakkara named the player of the BPL2016 final for his important 36 runs and  Khulna Titans’ mahmudullah named the player of the BPL2016 for his 396 runs and 10 Wickets in the series.

Match Summary – Dhaka Dynamites vs Rajshahi Kings:Final

Dhaka Dynamites won by 56 runs

Dhaka Dynamites- 159/9 (20)

Lewis 45, Sangakkara 36, Reza 3/28

Rajshahi Kings: 103/9 (17.4)

Mominul 27, Sabbir 26, Jayed 2/12

Leave a Reply