Wanindu Hasaranga destroyed Zimbabwe

Sri Lanka registered a comfortable 9-wicket win over Zimbabwe in the 3rd and final T20I of the series on Thursday at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Sri Lanka captain Wanindu Hasaranga won the coin toss and elected to bowl first.

After losing the toss, Zimbabwe opening batter Craig Ervine was dismissed in the very first over. After the dismissal of Craig Ervine, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe and Brian Bennett made a 34-run partnership in quick time until Bennett got out. Bennett scored 29 runs on 12 balls. 16 runs later, Kamunhukamwe was dismissed for 12 runs. Sikandar Raza scored 10 runs and got out for the fourth wicket of the Zimbabwe innings. After the dismissal of Raza, Zimbabwe went nowhere and lost wickets quickly. Sean Williams scored 15 runs. Eventually, Zimbabwe bowled out 82 runs in 14.1 overs. For Sri Lanka, Wanindu Hasaranga claimed 4 wickets, while Maheesh Theekshana and Angelo Mathews chipped in with 2 wickets.

In reply to that, Sri Lanka chased down the target successfully and scored 88 runs for a loss of 1 wicket in 10.5 overs. Pathum Nissanka and Kusal Mendis made a 64-run partnership for the first wicket. Kusal Mendis scored 33 runs, while Pathum Nissanka contributed an unbeaten 39 runs. Dhananjaya de Silva scored an unbeaten 15 runs.

With that win, Sri Lanka clinched the series 2-1. Angelo Mathews was named the player of the series for his all-round performance.

Leave a Reply