Sri Lanka Women registered a historical win

Sri Lanka women registered a historic 8-wicket win over England women in the 2nd T20I on Saturday at County Ground in Chelmsford. Sri Lanka Women captain Chamari Athapaththu won the toss and opted to bowl first.

After losing the toss, England’s women bound out for 104 runs in 18 overs. Sri Lankan bowlers kept things tight and put pressure on England from the word go. Charlotte Dean was the top scorer with 34 runs, and skipper Heather Knight scored 14 runs. At the back end of the innings, Issy Wong contributed 13 runs. For Sri Lanka, Kavisha Dilhari, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, and Inoshi Priyadharshani claimed two wickets each.

In reply to that, Sri Lanka Women chased down the target successfully and scored 110 runs for the loss of 2 wickets in 13.2 overs. Chamari Athapaththu was the top scorer with 55 runs, and Harshitha Samarawickrama scored an unbeaten 30 runs. Vishmi Gunaratne contributed an unbeaten 18 runs with four fours.

With that win, Sri Lanka registered their first win against England Women in T20I matches.

Leave a Reply