South Africa won by 9 runs

South Africa registered 9 runs win over India, in 1st ODI of the series at the Lucknow on Thursday. India Captain Shikhar Dhawan won the coin toss and elected to bowl first.Match was reduced to 40 overs per side due to rain.

After losing the toss South Africa made 249 runs for lost of 4 wickets in their 40 overs. Janneman Malan and Quinton de Kock made platform for South Africa with 49 runs for the 1st wicket. But they lost Janneman Malan, Temba Bavuma and Aiden Markram in quick sucsetions. However De kock and Heinrich Klaasen rebuild the innings and added 41 runs for the 4th wicket. Quinton de Kock dismissed for 48 runs. After that David Miller joined with Klaasen and finished the innings in style. Both David Miller and Heinrich Klaasen made 139 runs unbroken partnership for the 5th wicket. David Miller was the highest scorer with an unbeaten 75 runs. Heinrich Klaasen scored 74 runs not out.

In reply that India couldn’t get a good start. They lost 4 wickets with in 51 runs. After lost of 4 wickets Shreyas Iyer and Sanju Samson tried to rebuild the innings. Both added 67 runs for the 5th wicket. Shreyas Iyer dismissed for 50 runs in 37 balls. After that Sanju Samson and Shardul Thakur continued the fight back. Sanju and Shardul Thakur made 93 runs partnership for the 6th wicket. Shardul Thakur contributed with 33 runs. However Indian came closer to the target but they couldn’t cross the line. Sanju Samson was the top scorer for India with an unbeaten 86 runs. For South Africa Lungi Ngidi claimed 3 wickets.

Leave a Reply