South Africa registered 13th consecutive ODI win at home

South Africa registered a 40-runs win over Sri Lanka, in 4th  ODI of the five match series, at the Cape Town on Tuesday. This is the 13th consecutive ODI win for South Africa at home. South African Captain AB de Villiers won the coin toss, and elected to bat first.

South Africa off to a shaky start, as they lost Hashim Amla for just 1 run. After that Quinton de Kock and Faf du Plessis made 100 runs partnership for the 2nd wicket and de Kock out 55 runs. Following of his dismissal skipper AB de Villiers joined with du Plessis and made 137 runs partnership for the 3rd wicket and set the platform for the middle order to launched. AB de Villiers scored 64 runs in 62 balls. For South Africa, it was Faf du Plessis, who played a brilliant inning and scored 185 runs in 141 balls with 16 fours and 3 sixes. Eventually South Africa manage to score 367 for lost of 5 wickets in their 50 overs.

In respond that Sri Lankan off to a flayer with the openers contributing 139 runs in 16.1 overs , before Niroshan Dickwella fell for 58 runs. 64 runs later Kusal Mendis dismissed for 29 runs. For Sri Lanka, it was skipper Upul Tharanga, who was the top scorer with 119 runs in 90 balls. Dhananjaya de Silva  could not fair well, as they fell for single figures. However Sandun Weerakkody scored a gritty fifty and was well supported by Asela Gunaratne, who scored 38 runs in 31 balls. South African bowlers kept things tight in last 10 overs and never let go of their grip.  However Sri Lanka bowled out for 327 runs in 48.1 overs. While in the bowling department, it was Wayne Parnell, who claimed Four –wickets.

Match Summary – Sri Lanka vs South Africa : 4th ODI

South Africa won by 40 runs

South Africa – 367/5 (50)

Faf du Plessis – 185(140) | AB de Villiers – 64(60) | Pathirana – 2/55

Sri Lanka – 327 (48.1)

Upul Tharanga – 119(90) | Dickwella – 58(47) | Parnell – 4/58

Leave a Reply