Asela Gunaratne guide the Sri Lanka to a victory

Sri Lanka registered  2 wickets win over Australia and won the series with one match to go, at the Victoria on Sunday. Sri Lankan captain Upul Tharanga won the coin toss, and elected to bowl first.

After losing the toss Australia bowled out for 173 runs in their 20 overs. For Australia, It was Moises Henriques, who was the top scorer with unbeaten 56 runs. Michael Klinger(43) and Ben Dunck(32) contributed with some good runs as well. While in the bowling department, it was Nuwan Kulasekara, who claimed 4 wickets for31 runs in his 4 over. He bowled a brilliant final over and took 3 wickets in 20th over of the Australian inning.

In reply that Asela Gunaratne guide the Sri Lanka to a last ball victory in 2nd T20I against Australia. At one stage Sri Lanka were struggle with 40 for 4. However Asela Gunaratne scored a gritty 84 runs not out and was well supported by Chamara Kapugedara, who scored 32 runs. Eventually Sri Lanka manage to score 176 runs for lost of 8 wickets and registered 2 wickets victory over Australian.

Asela Gunaratne awarded as the Player of the Match for his fighting knock.

Sri Lanka vs Australia 2nd T20I – Stat
Sri Lanka became the first team to win a match in Simonds Stadium, Victoria

Sri Lanka registered their 4th Consecutive T20I win in 2017

Sri Lanka registered their 5th Consecutive T20I win against Australia in Australia

Sri Lanka registered their 3rd Consecutive series win in Australia


Match Summary – Australia vs Sri Lanka : 2nd T20I

Sri Lanka won by 2 Wickets

Australia – 173 (20)

Henriques – 56(37) | Klinger – 43(37) | Kulasekara – 4/31

Sri Lanka – 176/8 (20)

Gunaratne – 84(46) | Kapugedara – 32(32) | Tye – 3/37

Leave a Reply