New Zealand level the series

New Zealand registered a 9-wicket win over Sri Lanka in the 2nd T20I of the series on Wednesday at Dunedin. New Zealand captain Tom Latham won the coin toss and elected to bowl first.

Sri Lanka lost Kusal Mendis early when the score was 18 runs. Eleven runs later, Pathum Nissanka was dismissed for nine runs. After that, Kusal Perera and Dhananjaya de Silva made a 62-run partnership and tried to rebuild the innings until Kusal Perera was dismissed for 35 runs. In the very next over, Dhananjaya de Silva was dismissed for 37 runs. After that, Sri Lanka lost the momentum and was on the back foot. Sri Lanka’s middle order collapsed, and they were bowled out for 141 runs in 19 overs. Charith Asalanka scored 24 runs. For New Zealand, Adam Milne claimed five wickets for 26 runs.

In reply, New Zealand got off to a flying start, and Chad Bowes and Tim Seifert made a 40-run partnership for the first wicket until Chad Bowes was dismissed for 31 runs. After that, skipper Tom Latham joined with Chad Bowes to make an unbroken 106-run partnership and finish the game in 14.4 overs. Tim Seifert was the top scorer with an unbeaten 79 runs with three fours and six sixes. Tom Latham was well supported with an unbeaten 20.

Leave a Reply