Mahendra Singh Dhoni steps down as captain of India’s Limited overs team

35 years old Indian World Cup winning captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has given up the captaincy of India’s national ODI and T20 teams. However  he is available for selection in the upcoming ODI and T20I series against England. A Tweet from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) confirmed that Mahendra Singh Dhoni has decided to step down from the position.

NEWS ALERT – Mahendra Singh steps down as of . He will be available for selection for ODIs & T20Is vs England – BCCI


MS Dhoni made his ODI debut as a captain in 2007 . He lead the side for 199 ODIs and 72 T20Is. India Team have won 110 ODI matches under the MS Dhoni’s captaincy with Winning percentage of 55.28. Dhoni has scored 6633 ODI runs as captain at an average of 54 and a strike rate of 86. He has scored 1112 runs in T20Is as a Captain with the strike rate of 122.60.

As a captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni led the Inidan Team to Three ICC Titles. He led the side to win World Twenty20 on his captaincy debut in 2007.  Also India have won 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup and 2013 Champions Trophy under MS Dhoni’s captaincy.

Leave a Reply