Jaffna Kings claimed their third LPL title in three consecutive years

The Jaffna Kings registered a two-wicket win over the Colombo Stars in the final of the Lanka Premier League on Friday at Colo The Jaffna Kings captain, Thisara Perera, won the coin toss and elected to bowl first.

After losing the toss, Colombo Stars made 163 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in their 20 overs. Colombo Stars lost their first wicket in the very first over. But Charith Asalanka and Dinesh Chandimal rebuilt the innings and made a 75-run partnership for the second wicket. Charith Asalanka was dismissed for 31 runs. 13 runs later, Dinesh Chandimal runs out for 49 runs. However, once again Ravi Bopara played the finishing role for the Colombo Stars and scored an unbeaten 47 runs in 33 balls.

In reply, Jaffna Kings scored 164 runs in 19.2 overs and claimed two wickets. Jaffna Kings had a wonderful start, and they made a 49-run partnership for the first wicket until Rahmanullah Gurbaz was dismissed for 36 runs. 7 runs later, Afif Hossain got out for 3 runs. After that, Sadeera Samarawickrama and Avishka Fernando made a 72-run partnership for the third wicket and took the game away from the Colombo Stars. Sadeera Samarawickrama scored 44 runs. Avishka Fernando was the top scorer with 50 runs.

With that win, Jaffna Kings claimed their third LPL title in three consecutive years. Avishka Fernando won the Player of the Match. Vijayakanth Viyaskanth is awarded the Emerging Player of the Year award. Rahmanullah Gurbaz is named the Innovative Player of the Tournament and also wins the prize for Most Sixes in LPL 2022. Also, Avishka Fernando won the cheque for the Green Cap for the most runs in the season, while Carlos Brathwaite won the cheque for the most wickets in the LPL 2022. Sadeera Samarawickrama has been named the Tournament Player of the Third Lanka Premier League.

Leave a Reply