India registered its eighth consecutive win in World Cup

India registered a comfortable 243-run win over South Africa in the 37th match of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 on Sunday at Eden Gardens in Kolkata. India captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bat first.

After winning the toss, India scored 326 runs for a loss of 5 wickets in their 50 overs. Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill were off to a flying start and made a 62-run partnership for the first wicket. Skipper Rohit Sharma scored 40 runs in 24 balls. Virat Kohli was the top scorer with an unbeaten 101 runs on his birthday. He scored his 49th ODI hundred and equaled the great Sachin Tendulkar with the most hundreds in ODI matches. Shreyas Iyer scored 77 runs. Both Kohli and Iyer made a 134-run partnership for the third wicket. At the back end of the inning, Ravindra Jadeja smashed an unbeaten 29 runs in 15 balls.

In reply to that, South Africa bowled out 83 runs in 27.1 overs. Indian bowlers take control of the game from the get-go. Marco Jansen was the top scorer with 14 runs, and Rassie van der Dussen scored 13 runs. Temba Bavuma and David Miller contributed 11 runs each. Other than that, no one was able to pass the double-finger mark. For India, Ravindra Jadeja claimed 5 wickets, while Mohammed Shami and Kuldeep Yadav chipped in with 2 wickets.

Leave a Reply