Chennai Super Kings won the longest IPL final

Chennai Super Kings registered a 5-wicket win over Gujarat Titans in the final of the Indian Premier League 2023 on Monday in Ahmedabad. The final was scheduled to be played on May 28th, but the match was rescheduled to May 29th due to the heavy rain. Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni won the toss and opted to bowl first.

After losing the toss, the Gujarat Titans put a huge total on the board and scored 214 runs for the loss of four wickets in their 20 overs. Wriddhiman Saha scored 54 runs, and Shubman Gill scored 39 runs. Sai Sudharsan was the top scorer with 96 runs. Skipper Hardik Pandya contributed with an unbeaten 21 runs. For Chennai Super Kings, Matheesha Pathirana claimed two wickets.

In reply, Chennai Super Kings chased down the target successfully in the last ball of the match. At the end of the third ball of the first over, the match was stopped due to rain. However, after a long break, the match was started, the 2nd inning was reduced to 15 overs, and the target was revised to 171 runs. Devon Conway scored 47 runs, while Shivam Dube contributed an unbeaten 32 runs. Ajinkya Rahane scored 27 runs, and Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 26 runs. Ravindra Jadeja smashed 6 and 4 in the last two balls and scored an unbeaten 15 runs to guide the team to a victory. Chennai Super Kings scored 171 runs for the loss of five wickets in 15 overs and became the champions of the Indian Premier League in 2023.

Leave a Reply