Bangladesh level the Series

Bangladeshis registered a convincing 45-run win over Sri Lanka, in 2nd and the final T20I of the series, at the Colombo on Thursday. Bangladesh Captain Mashrafe Mortaza won the coin toss, and elected to bat first.

Bangladesh were off to a steady start, with the openers contributing 71 opening runs, before Soumya Sarkar fell for 34 runs. 07 runs later Imrul Kayes dismissed for 36 runs. Following of his dismissal Shakib Al Hasan joined with Sabbir Rahman and made 46 runs partnership for the 3rd wicket before Sabbir Rahman dismissed for 19 runs. For Bangladesh it was Shakib Al Hasan, who was the top scorer with 38 runs. In 19th over Lasith Malinga took a hat-trick. However Bangladesh scored 176 runs for lost of 9 wickets in their 20 overs.

In reply that, Sri Lankans were off to a shaky start, as they lost Kusal Perera in very first over for just 4 runs. 15 runs later Dilshan Muraweera dismissed for 4 runs. Sri Lankan middle order collapsed and Sri Lanka lost 3 wickets at the score of 40.  However Chamara Kapugedara scored a gritty fifty and was well supported by Thisara Perera, who scored 27 runs. Both added 58 runs for the 6 wicket.  The Bangladeshi bowlers kept things tight and never let go of their grip. Eventually Sri Lanka were bowled out for 131 runs with in 18 overs. And it claimed respectable 45 runs victory for Bangladesh.


Match Summary – Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh : 2nd T20I

Bangladesh won by 45 runs

Bangladesh – 176/9 (20)

Shakib – 38(31) | Kayes – 36(25) | Malinga – 3/34

Sri Lanka – 131 (18)

Kapugedara – 50(35) | Thisara Perera – 27(23) | Mustafizur – 4/21

Leave a Reply