The Kandy Falcons won the tense game

The Kandy Falcons registered a four-wicket win over the Jaffna Kings in the 6th match of the Lanka Premier League on Saturday at Pallekele. The Kandy Falcons captain, Wanindu Hasaranga, won the coin toss and elected to bowl first.

Jaffna Kings score 147 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs after losing the toss.Jaffna Kings made a strong start.But Kandy’s bowlers came back strongly and took wickets at regular intervals. Avishka Fernando was the top scorer with 31 runs. Shoaib Malik made 28 runs. Both Shoaib Malik and Dunith Wellalage made a 45-run partnership for the fifth wicket. Fabian Allen, Wanindu Hasaranga, and Isuru Udana claimed two wickets each.

In reply, Kandy Falcons chased down the target in the last ball of the 20th over. Kandy lost their first wicket early. After the loss of Andre Fletcher, Kamindu Mendis and Pathum Nissanka rebuilt the inning with a 36-run partnership. Pathum Nissanka scored 29 runs. However, the Jaffna Kings kept things tight and put pressure on the Kandy Falcons. Ashen Bandara and Chamika Karunaratne kept Kandy hope alive, and they made a valuable partnership in the middle until Ashen Bandara walked off the field. He scored 44 runs in 39 balls. Eventually, Chamika Karunarathne hit two consecutive sixes in the 20th over and sealed the Kandy Falcons’ victory. He scored an unbeaten 26 runs in 16 balls. Kandy Falcons scored 148 runs for the loss of six wickets in their 20 overs.

Leave a Reply