Sri Lanka women registered their first ever series win against New Zealand women

Sri Lanka women registered an 8-wicket win, according to the DLS method, over New Zealand women in the rain-effected third and final match of the series on Monday at Galle. New Zealand women’s captain Sophie Devine won the toss and opted to bat first.

After winning the toss, New Zealand managed to score 127 runs for the loss of two wickets in 31 overs before the rain break. Suzie Bates scored an unbeaten 63 runs, and skipper Sophie Devine scored an unbeaten 38 runs. Melie Kerr contributed 19 runs.

After a long rain break, the 2nd inning was reduced to 29 overs, and the target was reset to 196 according to the DLS method. Sri Lanka lost. Vishmi Gunaratne lost the very first over, and 5 runs later, Harshitha Samarawickrama was dismissed for just 3 runs. After that, Chamari Athapaththu and Nilakshi de Silva made an unbroken 190-run partnership for the 3rd wicket and guided the team to a historic win. Chamari Athapaththu was the top scorer with an unbeaten 140, and Nilakshi de Silva scored an unbeaten 48. Eventually, Sri Lanka’s women scored 196 runs but lost two wickets in 26.5 overs.

With that win, Sri Lanka women registered their first ever series win in any format of the game against New Zealand women.

Leave a Reply