Sri Lanka Team lost to Bangladesh

Bangladesh registered a convincing 33 run win over Sri Lanka, in 1st ODI of 3 match series, and lead the series 1-0 at the Shere Bangla National Stadium on Sunday. Bangladesh captain Tamim Iqbal won the coin toss and elected to bat first.

Bangladesh off shaky start as they lost their opener Liton Das early in the inning. After the lost of first wicket Bangladesh’s most experienced player Shakib Al Hasan joined with the skipper and add 38 runs. But Shakib struggled to score freely as he used to play. However he got out for 15. After that Mushfiqur Rahim and Tamim Iqbal made 54 runs partnership for the 3rd wicket. Skipper Tamim Iqbal scored 52 runs before he LBW for Dhananjaya. Dhananjaya de Silva took Tamim and Mithun in one over and built the pressure on Bangladesh middle order. But Mahmudullah and Rahim rebuilt the Bangladesh innings and made 109 runs partnership for the 5th wicket. Mushfiqur Rahim was the top scorer of the Bangladesh inning with 84 runs and Mahmudullah contributed with 54 runs. Dhananjaya de Silva claimed 3 wickets for in his 10 overs. However, Bangladesh scored 257 runs for lost of 6 wickets in their 50 overs.

In Reply that Sri Lanka were off to a good start, with the openers contributing 30 opening runs in 5 overs. Dhanushka Gunathilaka was the first to go after a quick 21 runs with 5 fours. After that Young Pathum Nissanka out for 8 runs when Sri Lanka were 41. However Captain and Vice Captain tried to rebuilt the Sri Lanka Inning. They made 41 runs Partnership. Kusal Mendis got out for 24 runs after that Kusal Perera bowled for 30 runs. Sri Lanka lost Dhannajaya de Silva and Ashen Bandara in quick succession. Sri Lanka was 102 for 6 from 27.3 overs while chasing 258 runs when Hasaranga came to bat. Then he scored 74 runs from 60 balls including 3 fours and 5 sixes. But he couldn’t finish the game. However Bangladesh bowlers kept things tight. Sri Lanka bowled out for 224 in 48.1 overs. Mehidy Hasan claimed 4 wickets for 30 runs.
It registered 33 runs victory for Bangladesh. 

Leave a Reply