Sri Lanka suffered a crushing defeat

New Zealand registered a massive 198-run win over Sri Lanka in the 1st ODI of the series on Saturday at Auckland. Sri Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka won the coin toss and elected to bowl first.

After losing the toss, New Zealand got off to a flying start and scored 36 runs for the first wicket until Chad Bowes was dismissed for 14 runs. After that, Finn Allen and Will Young made 35 runs for the second wicket. Finn Allen was the top scorer with 51 runs in 49 balls. Daryl Mitchell scored 47 runs. Daryl Mitchell and Glenn Phillips made 66 runs for the sixth wicket. Glenn Phillips scored 39 runs. At the back end of the innings, Rachin Ravindra added a valuable 49 runs. Eventually, New Zealand was bowled out for 274 runs in 49.3 overs. For Sri Lanka, Chamika Karunaratne claimed four wickets.

In reply, Sri Lanka were bundled out for 76 runs inside 19.5 overs. Visitors haven’t had a good start. Angelo Mathews was the top scorer with 18 runs. Chamika Karunaratne scored 11 runs, and Lahiru Kumara scored 10 runs. Other than that, no one was able to score double figures. For New Zealand, Henry Shipley claimed five wickets for 31 runs.

Leave a Reply