Sri Lanka squad for World Cup Qualifiers

Sri Lanka Cricket has officially announced the 15-member squad for the ICC World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe. Sri Lanka made one change to their squad, which they named for the home series against Afghanistan, and dropped Sri Lanka’s most experienced player, Angelo Mathews. Dasun Shanaka was named captain of the side, while Kusal Mendis was named vice captain.

Dimuth Karunarathne secured his spot in the squad, and he is the most experienced player in the current squad, with two previous World Cup appearances in 2015 and 2019, respectively. He was the captain of the side in the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019. Dhanajya De Silva and Kusal Mendis played in the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019. 

Kusal Mendis and Sadeera Samarawickrama will join the team as wicketkeeper batsmen, while Pathum Nissanka Charith Asalanka will strengthen the Sri Lankan batting line-up.

The ICC World Cup Qualifier will start on June 18th, and Sri Lanka will play their first match against the UAE on June 19th in Bulawayo.

Sri Lanka squad for the ICC World Cup Qualifiers

Dasun Shanaka (C), Kusal Mendis (VC), Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunarathne, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunarathne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Matheesha Pathirana, Maheesh Theekshana, Dushan Hemantha


Leave a Reply