Sri Lanka registered their first ever series win against England

Sri Lanka Women registered a historic 7-wicket win over England Women in the 3rd T20I of the series on Wednesday at County Ground in Derby. Sri Lanka Women captain Chamari Athapaththu won the toss and opted to bowl first.

After losing the toss, the England women’s team was bowled out for 116 runs in 19 overs. Maia Bouchier was the top scorer with 23 runs, and Danielle Gibson scored 21 runs. Amy Jones contributed with 18 runs. For Sri Lanka, women’s skipper Chamari Athapaththu claimed three wickets, while Kavisha Dilhari and Udeshika Prabodhani took two wickets each.

In reply to that, Sri Lanka women chased down the target successfully and scored 117 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in 17 overs. Chamari Athapaththu and Anushka Sanjeewani made a 65-run partnership for the first wicket. Chamari Athapaththu was the top scorer with 44 runs, while Anushka Sanjeewani scored 20 runs. Harshitha Samarawickrama contributed with an unbeaten 26 runs.

With that win, Sri Lanka’s women clinched the series. This is the first-ever series win for Sri Lanka against England.

Leave a Reply