Sri Lanka registered first Series win in South Africa

Sri Lanka registered 5 wickets win over South Africa, in 3rd T20I and won the series 2-1, at cape town on Wednesday. South African captain Farhaan Behardien won the coin toss, and elected to bat first.

JJ Smuts and Reeza Hendricks started the South African innings and they made 36 runs partnership for the first wicket. JJ Smuts out for 19 runs. Following his dismissal AB de Villiers joined with Reeza Hendricks and made 71 runs partnership for the 2nd wickets, before Reeza Hendricks out for 41 in 34 balls. After that David Miller and Farhaan Behardien could not fair well, as they fell for single figures. For South Africa, it was AB de Villiers, who was the top scorer with 63 runs. Mangaliso Mosehle started to play some shots in the latter stages of the innings and he scored quick unbeaten 32 runs in 15 balls. Eventually South Africa manage to score 169 runs for lost of 5 wickets in their 20 overs.

In reply that Sri Lanka scored 170 runs and won the match with 1 ball remaining. Upul Tharanga and Niroshan Dickwella started the Sri Lankan innings and they made 36 runs partnership for the 1st wicket. For Sri Lanka, it was Niroshan Dickwella, who was the top scorer with 68 runs. However it was, Seekkuge Presanna and Asela Gunaratne, who turn the game around and they made quick 28 runs in 2.2 overs. Seekkuge Prasanna scored 37 runs not out in 16 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes.

Sri Lankan opening Batsman Niroshan Dickwella named as player of the match and player of the series.


Match Summary – South Africa vs Sri Lanka : 3rd T20I

Sri Lanka won by 5 wickets

South Africa – 169/5 (20)

AB de Villiers – 63(44) | Hendricks – 41(34) | Sandakan – 1/23

Sri Lanka – 170/5 (19.5)

N Dickwella – 68(51) | S Prasanna – 37(16) | Tahir – 3/18

Leave a Reply