Did you know?News

Sri Lanka’ record as host nation in T20 World Cup

Do you know, Sri Lanka is the only host nation to played T20 World Cup Final. They have qualify for the T20 World Cup final in three times and became the Champions in 2014.
In 2012 Sri Lanka hosted the ICC World Twenty20 Tournament and Sri Lanka able to qualify for the Final. However unfortunately they lost against West Indies in Final. But other than that no one able to play a final as a host nation in past 7 editions of ICC T20 World Cup.

  Host(s) Winner  Runner-up
2007 South Africa India Pakistan
2009 England Pakistan Sri Lanka
2010 West Indies  England Australia
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka India
2016 India West Indies England
2021 Oman/UAE Australia New Zealand

Leave a Reply