Sri Lanka clinched the series against Afghanistan

Sri Lanka registered a nine-wicket win over Afghanistan in the third and final ODI of the series on Wednesday at Hambanthota. Afghanistan captain Hashmatullah Shahidi won the coin toss and elected to bat first.

After winning the toss, Afgnaistan bundled out for 116 runs in 22.2 overs. Sri Lankan bowlers kept things tight and took wickets at regular intervals. Mohammad Nabi was the top scorer with 23 runs, and Ibrahim Zadran scored 22 runs. At the end of the inning, Gulbadin Naib had contributed 20 runs. Other than that, no one was able to score more than 10 runs. For Sri Lanka, Dushmantha Chameera claimed 4 wickets, and Wanindu Hasaranga took 3 wickets.

In reply, Sri Lanka got off to a flying start and made an 84-run partnership for the first wicket. Pathum Nissanka scored 51 runs in 34 balls. Dimuth Karunaratne scored his second consecutive fifty in a series against Afghanistan and made an unbeaten 56 runs. Kusal Mendis contributed with an unbeaten 11 runs.

With that win, Sri Lanka clinched the series 2-1.

Leave a Reply