Sri Lanka became the Champions of Asia Cup

Sri Lanka registered 23 runs win over Pakistan and became the Champions of Asia Cup for the 6th time, at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Sunday. Pakistan Captain Babar Azam won the coin toss and elected to filed first.

Sri Lanka couldn’t get a good start as they do previews matches. They lost 5 wickets for 58 runs. After that Bhanuka Rajapaksha and Chamika Karunarathne made 58 runs partnership for the 6th wicket. Wanindu Hasaranga made 36 runs in 21 balls. Bhanuka Rajapaksha was the top scorer for Sri Lanka with an unbeaten 71 runs in 45 balls. However Sri Lanka manage to score 170 runs for lost of 6 wickets in their 20 overs.

In reply that Pakistan bowled out for 147 runs in 20 overs. They lost wickets regularly. Mohammad Rizwan and Iftikhar Ahmed made 71 runs partnership for the 3rd wicket. But it not enough to take Pakistan over the line. Iftikhar Ahmed made 32 runs. Mohammad Rizwan scored 55 runs in 49 balls. For Sri Lanka Pramod Madushan claimed 4 wickets and Wanindu Hasranga took 3 wickets.

Bhanuka Rajapaksha named as the player of the match for his fighting knock and Wanindu Hasaranga named as the player of the series for his all round performances.

Leave a Reply