South Africa won the series against New Zealand

South Africa registered a convincing 6 wickets win over New Zealand, and won the series 3-2, at the Auckland on Saturday. South African Captain AB de Villiers won the coin toss, and elected to bowl first.

Martin Guptill and Dean Brownlie started the New Zealand innings and they made 17 runs partnership before Martin Guptill fell for 04 runs. 25 runs later Kane Williamson run out for 9 runs and in very next over opening batsman Dean Brownlie dismissed for 24 runs. For New Zealand, it was Colin de Grandhomme, who was the top scorer with 32 runs. Both James Neesham and Mitchell Santner scored 24 runs each. However New Zealand bowled out for 149 runs in 41.1 overs. While in the bowling department, Kagiso Rabada claimed 3 wickets for 25 runs.

In respond that South Africa scored 150 runs and won the match with 106 balls remaining. South African openers, Hashim Amla and Quinton de Kock dismissed for single figures. JP Duminy could not fair well and he out for just 3 runs. Following of his dismissal South African skipper and Faf du Plessis made 40 runs partnership for the 4th wicket, before AB de Villiers fell for 23 runs. However David Miller and Faf du Plessis guide the team to 6 wickets victory with 72 runs partnership. Faf du Plessis scored unbeaten 51 runs and David Miller made 45 not out.

Match Summary – South Africa vs New Zealand : 5th ODI

South Africa won by 6 Wickets

New Zealand – 149 (41.1)

De Grandhomme – 32(48) | Neesham – 24(24) | Rabada – 3/25

South Africa – 150/4 (32.2)

Du Plessis – 51*(90) | Miller – 45*(35) | Patel- 2/26

Leave a Reply