South Africa registered a convincing win over Sri Lanka in 1st ODI

South Africa registered a convincing 8 wickets win over visitors Sri Lanka, in 1st ODI of the five match series, at the Port Elizabeth on Saturday. South African Captain AB de Villiers won the coin toss, and elected to field first.

After losing the toss Debutant Sandun Weerakkody and Niroshan Dickwella started the Sri Lankan innings. They couldn’t give them a good start to Sri Lanka. Niroshan Dickwella dismissed for 1 run. 13 runs later debutant Sandun Weerakkody out for 5 runs. Following of his dismissal Dinesh Chandimal join with Kusal Mendis and they made 72 runs partnership for the 3rd wicket,before Dinesh Chandimal fell for 22. After that no one able to build a strong partnership at the middle and lost wickets at regular intervals. For Sri Lanka, It was Kusal Mendis, who was the only successful batman. He scored 62 runs. South African bowlers kept things tight and Wayne Parnell and Imran Tahir claimed three wickets each. Eventually Sri Lanka all out for 181 runs in 48.3 overs.

In  reply that South Africa scored 185 runs for lost of 2 wickets in 34.2 overs. They were off to a steady start, with the openers contributing 71 opening runs, before Quinton de Kock fell for 34 runs. 60 runs later Hashim Amla dismissed for 57 runs. Following of his dismissal South African skipper AB de Villiers joined with Faf de Plessis and made 54 runs unbeaten partnership for the 3rd wicket. Faf du Plessis made unbeaten 55 runs and AB de Villiers stayed on not out with 30 runs. South Africa finished the the match with 94 balls remaining.

Imran Tahir named as player of the match for his brilliant bowling performance

Match Summary – Sri Lanka vs South Africa : 1st ODI

South Africa won by 8 wickets

Sri Lanka – 181 (48.3)

Kusal Mendis – 62(94) | D de Silva- 28(53) | I Tahir – 3/26

South Africa – 185/2 (34.2)

Amla – 57(71) | du Plessis – 55(68) | Gunaratne – 1/19

Leave a Reply