Pakistan qualified for the T20 World Cup Final

Pakistan registered a 7-wickets win over New Zealand, in 1st Semi final of the T20I World Cup at the Sydney on Wednesday. New Zealand Captain Kane Williamson won the coin toss and elected to bat first.

After winning the toss, New Zealand made 152 runs for the loss of four wickets in their 20 overs. New Zealand hasn’t had a good start, they lost their three big hitters early. However,  New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and Daryl Mitchell rebuilt the innings and 68 runs partnership for the 4th wicket. Williamson scored 46 runs in 42 balls. Daryl Mitchell was the top scorer with 53 runs. For Pakistan, Shaheen Afridi claimed 2 wickets. 

In reply that, Pakistan reached the target successfully with in 19.1 overs. They scored 153 runs for lost of 3 wickets and qualify for the T20 World Cup Final. Pakistan had a solid foundation with their openers. Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam made a 105 runs partnership for the first wicket. Skipper Babar Azam scored 53 runs, and Rizwan made 57 runs. Mohammad Haris was the last man to be dismissed for 30 runs. 

With that win, Pakistan qualified for the T20 World Cup Final for the third time. Previously, they reached the finals in 2007 and 2009.

Leave a Reply