New Zealand won the second ODI at Nelson

New Zealand registered a convincing 67-run win over Bangladesh , in 2nd  ODI of the Three match series, at the Nelson on Thursday. Bangladesh Captain Mashrafe Mortaza won the coin toss, and elected to field first

After the lost the toss New Zealand were off to a shaky start, as they lost Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson for mere 0 and 14, at the score of 37. At the score of 47, it was Tom Latham, who fell for mere 22. following his dismissal, the incoming middle-order batsmen could not fair well, However, it was James Neesham , who managed to contribute 28 good runs. Neil Broom scored a gritty Hundred and was well supported by Luke Ronchi, who scored 35. New Zealand all out for 251 runs in their 50 overs and Neil Broom stayed on not out for 109 runs. while in the bowling department, it was Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza, who claimed three wickets.

In reply Bangladesh  lost their first wicket at the score of 30. For Bangladesh, it was Opening Imrul Kayes  , who was the top scorer with 59 runs. At one stage Bangladesh were 105 for 2 and looked good. But the New Zealand bowlers kept thing tight and never let go of their grip.  After the lost of Sabbir Rahman Bangladesh never really got going and lost wickets at regular Intervals. For New Zealand it was Kane Williamson who claimed three wickets for 22 runs. Finally Bangladesh all out for 184 runs in 42.2 overs and it claim a respectable 67 runs win for New Zealand.

Neil Broom named as the player of the match for his brilliant century.

Match Summary – Bangladesh vs New Zealand : 2nd ODI

New Zealand won by 67 runs

New Zealand – 251 (50)

Neil Broom – 109(107) | Luke Ronchi – 35(38) | Mortaza – 3/49

Bangladesh – 184 (42.4)

I Kayes – 59(89) | S Rahman – 38(49) | Williamson 3/22

Leave a Reply