Mumbai Indians Women became the Champions of WPL

Mumbai Indians Women registered a 7-wicket win over Delhi Capitals Women in the inaugural Women’s Premier League final on Sunday in Mumbai. Delhi Capitals women’s captain Meg Lanning won the coin toss and elected to bat first.

After winning the toss, the Delhi Capitals women scored 131 runs for the loss of nine wickets in their 20 overs. Skipper Meg Lanning was the top scorer with 35 runs; unfortunately, she was run out. At one stage, Delhi Capitals Women were 79 for 9, losing 9 wickets. However, Radha Yadav and Shikha Pandey made an unbroken 52-run partnership valuable for the last wicket. Both Radha Yadav and Shikha Pandey scored 27 runs each. While in the bowling department, Hayley Matthews and Issy Wong claimed three wickets each. 

In reply, the Mumbai Indians women chased down the target successfully and scored 134 runs for the loss of three wickets in 19.3 overs. Nat Sciver-Brunt was the top scorer with an unbeaten 60 runs. Skipper Harmanpreet Kaur scored 37 runs. Both Kaur and Brunt made 72-run partnerships for the 3rd wicket and took the game away from the Delhi Capitals. 

With that win, the Mumbai Indians women became the champions of the inaugural Women’s Premier League. Nat Sciver-Brunt was named the player of the final, and Hayley Matthews was named the player of the tournament.

Leave a Reply