Historic win for Bangladesh

Bangladesh registered 9  runs win over Netherland, in 17th T20I of the T20I World Cup at the Hobart  on Monday. Netherlands Captain Scott Edwards won the coin toss and elected to bowl first.

After losing the toss Bangladesh made 144 runs for lost of 8 wickets in their 20 overs. Bangladesh had a solid start and openers made 43 runs. After that good opening stand Bangladesh lost 4 wickets for 33 runs. However Afif Hossain rebuild the innings with the low orders batsman and put competitive total on the board. Afif was the top scorer with 38 runs. For Netherlands Paul van Meekeren and Bas de Leede claimed 2 wickets each.

In reply that Netherlands bowled out for 135 runs in their 20 overs. Taskin Ahmed took 2 wickets in first 2 balls of the Netherlands innings. Since then Netherlands lost their wickets in regular intervals. Colin Ackermann was the only successful batsman for Netherlands. He scored 62 runs. At the back end of the innings Paul van Meekeren played a little cameo of an innings and made 24 runs. For Bangladesh Taskin Ahmed claimed 4 wickets.

It was Bangladesh’s first win in 17 games in the second round of a T20 World Cup.

Leave a Reply