Heavy defeat for Sri Lanka

India registered a 317-run win over Sri Lanka in the 3rd and final ODI of the series on Sunday at Thiruvananthapuram. India captain Rohit Sharma won the coin toss and elected to bat first.

After winning the toss, India posted a huge total on the board. India got off to a flying start with 95 runs until Rohit Sharma got out for 42 runs. After the dismissal of Rohit, Virat Kohli came to the middle, and both Subman Gill and Virat Kohli made a 131-run partnership for the 2nd wicket. Shubman Gill scored 116 runs. Then Shreyas Iyer joined Kohli and added 108 runs for the third wicket. Iyer made 38 runs. During the 43rd over of the Indian innings, Ashen Bandara and Jeffrey Vandersay had a massive collision while trying to save a boundary. After that, both were taken to the hospital, and Dunith Wellalage came in as a concussion replacement for Jeffrey Vandersay. Once again, King Kohli was the star with the bat and scored a record breaking 166 runs not out. Eventually, India made 390 runs for the loss of five wickets in their 50 overs. 

In reply, Sri Lanka were all out for just 73 runs. Sri Lanka hasn’t had a good start. They lost Avishka Fernando for just 1 run when the score was 7. 15 runs later, Kusal Mendis was dismissed for 4 runs. After that, Sri Lanka’s innings went nowhere and it lost wickets regularly. Nawanidu Fernando was the top scorer with 19 runs. Dasun Shanaka scored 11 runs. Ashen Bandara didn’t come out to bat after the massive collision with Jeffrey Vandersay. However, Sri Lanka were bowled out for 73 runs in 22 overs. For India, Mohammed Siraj claimed 4 wickets while Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammed Shami took 2 wickets each.

With that win, India clinched the series with 3-0. This huge win is recorded as the largest margin of victory by runs in ODI history.

Leave a Reply