Galle beat Kandy

The Galle Gladiators registered a 12-run win over the Kandy Falcons in the 9th match of the Lanka Premier League on Monday at Pallekele. The Galle Gladiators captain, Kusal Mendis, won the coin toss and elected to bat first.

After winning the toss, the Galle Gladiators scored 153 runs for the loss of six wickets in their 20 overs. Galle lost four wickets for 10 runs. However, Thanuka Dabare and Nuwanidu Fernando added 113 runs for the fifth wicket to tie the innings.Nuwanidu Fernando scored 56 runs, and Thanuka Dabare was the top scorer with 70 runs. For the Kandy Falcons, Carlos Brathwaite claimed three wickets.

In reply, Kandy Falcons made 141 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in their 20 overs. Kandy Falcons lost wickets at regular intervals. Pathum Nissanka scored 29 runs, and other than that, the top order didn’t contribute much. However, Ashen Bandara and Chamika Karunaratne put on a 56-run stand for the seventh wicket to keep hope alive.Unfortunately, Chamika Karunaratne was run out for 32 runs. Ashen Bandara was the top scorer with an unbeaten 41.

Leave a Reply