Defending Champions star this year’s LPL campaign with a win 

Defending Champions Jaffna Kings registered a 21-run win over Colombo Strikers in the first match of the Lanka Premier League 2023 on Sunday at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Colombo Strikers captain Niroshan Dickwella won the toss and opted to bowl first.

After losing the toss, the Jaffna Kings scored 173 runs for the loss of five wickets in their 20 overs. Towhid Hridoy was the top scorer with 54 runs, and Dunith Wellalage scored an unbeaten 25 runs. Priyamal Perera contributed 22 runs. Skipper Thisara Perera smacked 14 runs in 7 balls and finished the inning in style.

In reply, the Colombo Strikers were bowled out for 152 runs in 19.4 overs. Skipper Niroshan Dickwella was the only successful batsman for Colombo and scored 58 runs. Chamika Karunaratne contributed 23 runs. Nuwanidu Fernando and Ramesh Mendis scored 17 runs each. For the Jaffna Kings, Hardus Viljoen claimed three wickets.

Leave a Reply