Colombo clinches a thrilling win

The Colombo Strikers registered a 7-wicket win over the Galle Titans in the 10th match of the Lanka Premier League 2023 on Monday at Pallekele. Colombo Strikers captain Niroshan Dickwella won the toss and opted to bowl first. 

After losing the toss, the Galle Titans scored 188 runs for the loss of three wickets in their 20 overs. Shevon Daniel and Lasith Croospulle added 87 runs for the first wicket until Croospulle was dismissed for 36. Shevon Daniel scored 49 runs. Tim Seifert was the top scorer with an unbeaten 54 runs. Both Bhanuka Rajapaksha and Tim Seifert added 87 runs for the third wicket. Bhanuka Rajapaksha scored 30 runs.

In reply to that, the Colombo Strikers chased down the target successfully and scored 189 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in 19.5 overs. Pathum Nissanka and Babar Azam made a 111-run partnership for the first wicket and set the platform for the chase. Pathum Nissanka scored 54 runs. Babar Azam was the star with the bat and scored 104 runs in 59 balls. At the back end of the innings, Mohammad Nawaz smashed an unbeaten 14 runs in 4 balls to take the team home.

Leave a Reply