Australia’s women are leading the series

The Australia women’s team defeated India’s women’s team by 9 wickets in the first T20I of the series on Friday in Mumbai. The Australia women’s team captain, Alyssa Healy, won the coin toss and elected to field first.

After losing the toss, India’s women post a competitive total on the board. They scored 172 runs for the loss of five wickets in their 20 overs. Richa Ghosh and Deepti Sharma scored 36 runs each.

In reply, Australia’s women chased down the target successfully in 18.1 overs. Australia had a good opening partnership between Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney. Both added 73 runs before Alyssa Healy was struck out for 37 runs. Tahlia McGrath then joined Beth Mooney for an unbroken 100-run partnership for the second wicket. Beth Mooney was the top scorer with an unbeaten 89 runs, and Tahlia McGrath scored an unbeaten 40 runs. Eventually, Australia’s women made 173 runs for the loss of 1 wicket and registered a 9-wicket victory. 

Leave a Reply