Australia registered their first T20I win against Sri lanka in Australia

Australians registered a convincing 41-run win over Sri Lanka, in 3rd ODI and the Final T20I of the series, at the Adelaide on Wednesday. Sri Lankan Captain Upul Tharanga won the coin toss, and elected to field first.

Australian were off to a flying start, with the openers contributing 79 opening runs, before Aaron Finch fell for 53 runs in 32 balls. 49 runs later Ben Dunck dismissed for 28 runs. Following of his dismissal Travis Head joined with Michael Klinger and made 51 runs partnership for the 3rd wicket. For Australia it was Michael Klinger, Who was the top scorer with 62 runs. Travis Head scored quick 30 runs in 16 balls. At one stage Australia looking for 200 plus. However Sri Lankan bowlers able to restrict them for 187 runs for lost of 6 wickets in 20 overs. Lasith Malinga and Dasun Shanaka claimed 2 wickets each.

In reply that Sri Lanka were off to a solid start. Upul Tharanga and Dilshan Munaweera made 41 runs partnership in 3.4 overs for the 1st wicket and set the platform for a another good chasse. However Australian bowlers kept things tight and never let go of their grip. Sri Lanka lost wickets at regular intervals. Dilshan Munaweera(37) and Milinda Siriwardene(35) contributed with good 30 runs but it wasn’t enough. Eventually Sri Lanka were bowled out for 146 runs in 18 overs. It claimed 41 runs victory for Australia and they registered their first T20I win against Sri lanka in Australia.

However Sri Lanka won the series 2-1. Adam Zampa named as player of the match for 3 wickets for 25 runs. Asela Gunaratne named as player of the series.

Match Summary – Australia vs Sri Lanka : 3rd T20I

Australia won by 41 runs

Australia – 187/6 (20)

Klinger – 62(43) | Finch- 53(32) | Shanaka – 2/27

Sri Lanka – 146 (18)

Munaweera – 37(25) | Siriwardene – 35(27) | Zampa 3/25

Leave a Reply