Australia beat unbeaten Sri Lanka

Australia women registered a 10-wicket win over Sri Lanka women in the 11th match of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup on Thursday at Gqeberha. The Australia captain, Meg Lanning, won the coin toss and elected to bowl first.

After losing the toss, Sri Lanka manages to score 112 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 8 wickets.Sri Lanka had a good start with Harshitha Samarawickrama and Chamari Athapaththu. Both added 30 runs to their first-wicket partnership.Chamari Athapaththu scored 16 runs. 39 runs later, Harshitha Samarawickrama was dismissed for 34 runs. After that, Sri Lanka lost wickets regularly. Vishmi Gunaratne scored 24 runs, and Nilakshi de Silva contributed an unbeaten 15 runs. Megan Schutt took four wickets for Australia.

In reply, Australian women chased down the target successfully. Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney made an unbroken 113 runs for the first wicket. Beth Mooney was the top scorer with an unbeaten 56 runs, and Alyssa Healy scored 54 runs not out. Eventually, Australia made 113 runs without losing a wicket in 15.5 overs.

Leave a Reply