The nail-biting thriller was won by New Zealand

New Zealand registered a four-wicket win over Sri Lanka in the 3rd T20I of the series on Saturday at Queenstown. New Zealand captain Tom Latham won the coin toss and elected to bowl first.

After losing the toss, Sri Lanka got off to a solid start, and their openers made a 76-run partnership for the first wicket until Pathum Nissanka was dismissed for 25 runs. After the dismissal of Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera joined Kusal Mendis and made a 46-run partnership for the 2nd wicket. Kusal Mendis was the top scorer for Sri Lanka with 73 runs. After that, Kusal Mendis was unfortunately run out for 33 runs. Both Dhananjaya de Silva and Kusal Perera added 34 runs for the third wicket. Dhananjaya de Silva scored 20 runs in just nine balls. Eventually Sri Lanka manage to score 182 runs for the loss of six wickets in their 20 overs.

In reply, New Zealand responded with a good start and made 53 runs for the first wicket. Chad Bowes scored 17 runs. After that, Tom Latham and Tim Seifert added 84 runs and laid the foundation for the great chase. However, Sri Lankan bowlers managed to take the wickets of Tom Latham and Tim Seifert in quick succession and put pressure back on the Kiwis. Tim Seifert scored 88 runs, while Tom Latham contributed 31 runs. After that, Daryl Mitchell and Mark Chapman added 25 runs and kept hopes alive for New Zealand. However, Sri Lankan bowlers came back strongly in the backstage of the game, bowled some tight overs, and took wickets at regular intervals. Eventually, New Zealand managed to cross the line in the final over, and they scored 183 runs for the loss of six wickets in 19.5 overs.

Leave a Reply